Four Marian students received recognition in the National Merit Scholarship (NMS) Program. Seniors Elizabeth Foreman and Colette Lawler were named semifinalists, and Ellen Crotzer and Jaimison Henton are commended students.

The NMS program is a competition for academic recognition and college scholarships. About 1.6 million juniors entered the 2023 NMS program by taking the PSAT/NMSQT in October 2021. Those recognized as semifinalists represent less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors. Semifinalists are the highest scoring entrants from each state, and about 15,000 will advance to finalist standing.

Elizabeth and Colette have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,250 National Merit Scholarships worth nearly $28 million that will be offered next spring. To be considered for a Merit Scholarship award, semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the finalist level of the competition. About 95 percent of the semifinalists are expected to attain finalist standing, and approximately half of the finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar title.

As a commended students, Ellen and Jaimison placed among the top five percent of those who took the qualifying test in October 2021.

An additional five students were recognized by the College Board for their outstanding academic achievements. Audrey Arther and Nina McMullen are recognized as National Hispanic Recognition Award winners. Regina Anyaegbunam, Madeline Gilmore and Chizzy Okolo are National African American Recognition Award winners. To qualify for the College Board National Recognition Program, students must have a minimum 3.5 GPA and score in the top 10% on the PSAT/NMSQT or PSAT 10 within program by state.